Originally posted September 2007

D&D/Nobilis: Tartarus

Tethys: I know why you’re here, Eos. I know what you’ve been doing… why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why day after day, you sit on the hill facing the sun. You’re looking for him. I know because I was once looking for the same thing. And when he found me, he told me I wasn’t really looking for him. I was looking for an answer. It’s the question that drives us, Eos. It’s the question that brought you here. You know the question, just as I did.

Eos: What is Tartarus?

Menoetius: Tartarus is a prison, Eos. That prison is our enemy. But when you’re inside and asleep, you look around, what do you see? Farmers, hunters, innkeepers, adventurers. The very minds of the titans we are trying to save. But until we do, these titans are still a part of that prison and that makes them our enemy. You have to understand, most of these titans are not ready to be released. And many of them are so inured, so hopelessly dependent on the prison, that they will fight to protect it.

Agent Hephaestus: I’d like to share a revelation that I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species and I realized that you’re not actually gods. Every god on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding worshipers but you titans do not. You move to an area and you multiply and multiply until every available sacrifice is consumed and the only way you can survive is to expand your cult to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. The titans are a disease, a cancer of this planet. You’re a plague and we are the cure.

